Someday

I have found nothing in my life so horribly daunting
As these dark damp hallways I have been haunting
Walls carved out of misery and painted with regret
Fill the air with a suffocating scent of pain I can never forget
A ceiling of despair hangs above so dismal and grey
Crumbling to pieces in a silent abysmal decay
Below me a rotted,cracking wooded floor
Each creaking step echoes of hope that lives here no more
Dim light shines through filth caked foggy window panes
Casting shades upon the walls through spattered milky stains
Stairs with warped steps hold puddles of swilled murky water
Lined with dusty metal rails bearing the stench of useless slaughter
Into a basement adorned with jagged mossy covered stones
And a cold concrete floor littered chalky brittle bones
Above unanswered prayers are carved upon the heavy wooden braces
Lost upon the world like tortured souls that never found thier places
Ahead moonlight shines through holes in a heavy rusted iron door
Lined with blood stained scratches of none who escaped before
Through it lays a tangled unkept garden of roses
Hung wilting with neglect in the most unforgiving of poses
A journey through the estate of my long forgotten past
Where leaving things to time proves they can never hope to last

7 thoughts on “Someday

      1. I hope you have found a way to deal with your depression. I have a son who struggles with depression and I hope you know that even though you may feel you are alone at times there are people who love you very much. I hope my son will believe that, too.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

